The Magi

Posted: December 26, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’ve always had a fascination for the Christmas song about the three kings who visited baby Jesus. The Magi, known also as the three wise men. It always seemed strange to me that three kings would bother to get up off their high seats, get on their camels and set out to follow a star. Even if it signified the birth of another king. Why would three kings be excited about the birth of another king anyway??

But the story seems so mystical, even today. I can almost smell the incense.

We three kings of Orient are
Bearing gifts we traverse afar
Field and fountain, moor and mountain
Following yonder star

The story of the Magi, the three kings who followed a star to Bethlehem to honor whom they believed to be was a new born king. And the gifts they brought were fascinating too. Gold, frankincense and myrrh.

Born a King on Bethlehem’s plain
Gold I bring to crown Him again
King forever, ceasing never
Over us all to rein

Frankincense to offer have I
Incense owns a Deity nigh
Pray’r and praising, all men raising
Worship Him, God most high

Myrrh is mine, its bitter perfume
Breathes of life of gathering gloom
Sorrowing, sighing, bleeding, dying
Sealed in the stone-cold tomb

The meaning of the words were always a bit hazy to me, and seemed to carry some sort of ancient secret message. Kinda gets me into that Dan Brown perspective, and I feel that I’m mouthing some ancient coded words when I sing the song. Kind of creepy in a spine-tingling way.

The gifts are said to be symbolical: the gold is said to be a symbol of kingship, frankincense a symbol of prayer and myrrh a symbol of death. Strange gifts to bring a newborn prince *shrug*

Glorious now behold Him arise
King and God and Sacrifice
Alleluia, Alleluia
Earth to heav’n replies

Yup, never fails to leave me in awe.

Comments
  1. You know, I’ve never seen all of the lyrics to that song. How beautiful and eerie they are!

  2. Thought this is going to be about the instant noodle when I first read the heading! 😛 😀 Nevertheless very insightful! Merry Christmas to you! 🙂

  3. psychodoodle says:

    😛 A very merry Christmas to you too….

  4. Q says:

    I didn’t know the song, but it does sound a little intriguing. I can see why you have such interest in it.

Leave a Reply

