The ugly truth

Posted: January 15, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So I’ve been feeling guilty about not having blogged for awhile. To make myself feel better I thought I’d share something that my sister said to me while cruising the isles of the supermarket a while back. It’s about Love. And this is what she said.

That Love is just a state of mind.

Now that may not impress you much but I felt a little disturbed about it. It just sounded so temporary. If love is just a ‘state of mind’ how does one know if one is actually in love or whether one just thinks that he/she is in love? Which boils down again to the question: What is love? At which point my sister’s definition of it – Love is just a state of mind – flashes across my mind. But what is a ‘state of mind’? Isn’t it like a feeling? Like anger or panic or happiness?

Yes yes, so whatever the hell it is, as long as you are in that ‘state of mind’ or feel it, it’s all good. But what disturbs me I guess is that it seems so temporary. Is it? 😐 Or is it that the concept of ‘being in love’ is temporary and that ‘love’ is permanent? Does it matter?? *ponders* Yes it does!! I want to know!! I want to know what I’m getting into!!

But for centuries people have lived and died trying to find the answer and not succeeded. What makes me think that I’ll figure it out?? *experiences nagging feeling that I’ve blogged about something completely meaningless and wasted the time of whoever is reading this*  Erm…  *coughs uncomfortably*  Look!! A tree!!! *points to the left. and runs to the right*

Comments
  1. Sy says:

    Where do you find these cool pictures?
    I almost don’t even want to comment on this. I hate to get in your way. i love to watch you think. I liked your closing line.
    I’m listening to Chris Isaak’s song Wicked Game on MOG right now. Nice background for this, haunting guitar.
    I think love is a state of emotion not thought and thinking about it can only make you crazy. A baseball player said that perfection is finding that perfect balance between thought and emotion. he was talking about batting, but that is the goal in life also.
    If we could understand thoughts and emotions we would be gods. the best we can hope for is to control them. that’s it I’m shutting up.

    • psychodoodle says:

      hmm.. i like Wicked Games.. *singing – Strange what desire will make foolish people do.. -* Cool pics are stolen off google. Perfect balance between thought and emotion: hmm.. i like that. Feels unattainable and just out of grasp somehow.

      • Sy says:

        first, I’m glad you posted, to me you’re never boring, and the perfect balance thing, if you do attain it with someone (lovewise) and then get betrayed can you ever attain it again? I guess it depends on the individual.
        know what’s weird? when I started my blog i just wanted to share my humor, thought well i’ll do this cartoon and see how long i can maintain it. i really thought it was going to be a challenge and now i can’t seem to shut the f… up.
        I’m off tomorrow for MLK day, the wife has to work and I’m thinking well I’ll walk the dog and maybe stay up and do some more posting, but instead I think I’ll catch up on my Tivo…well, maybe i’ll do one post.
        anyway. again, i’m glad you posted , and sorry about the dood thing it was probably a little insensitive of me, but it still was kind of funny.

      • psychodoodle says:

        😛 hmph! well no harm done at all in not shutting the f… up…. how’s the new head coming along? 🙂

  2. sy says:

    I’m going to send an e-mail right now. I really shouldn’t have jumped the gun on that. I thought everything was in place, but the first person didn’t have the talent I thought he did and he got pissed at me because I didn’t like his pictures, and since i’m just asking for favors i can’t push too hard, but i really like the story and my thoughts on it are that either the reader is going to read the beginning and think what is this crap and not take it seriously or they’ll think what is this crap and stay with it out of curiousity, but thanks for letting me talk about myself on your page

  3. melodydemone says:

    If we had the answers to the unanswerable, maybe it would not be so much fun!
    It’s distressing and interesting, and your not the only one
    I’m tormented and then tantalised
    With this love aspect
    I think I know the answer
    But when love comes
    I do forget!

  4. melodydemone says:

    awwwww bless, well I’m on the hunt for official blog buddies, i came across this concept today and it’s something I do anyway, but to be official, you’ve just got to link back to my blog page and of course I will return the favour. Regardless I’m subscribed 🙂

  5. sy says:

    Hi “P” I just wanted you to know that the new web page is up, without the new head for now. I haven’t started posting on it yet but it is accessible at headonthetable.com or sycomments.com, so take a look if you want to. hope everything is going good for you.

    • psychodoodle says:

      ooh your own website… nice. checked it out, the you-ness in it is missing without the head… 🙂

      • sy says:

        you know what I sent the girl who set it up for me a draft of a story to model it around, but she said the story grossed her out, so I said ok, whatever you do will be fine, but thanks for your views, as always

  6. Okay, now I have this creepy feeling your sis not second to you! Poor poor fella! 😀

    But I got to say, me, LOVES THE ENDING! 🙂

  7. Do you know about the biological state called “limerence”? It often happens during your first six months or so of involvement with someone. It’s essentially what happens when all of your body chemicals and hormones conspire to bond you with someone–the snuggly hormones, the obsessive hormones, and the love-y hormones bombard you until you’re almost legallly insane over this one person.

    So, I often wait to see if I still love someone a year later to see if it’s *actually* going somewhere–if I’d still clean someone’s poo off of my carpet a year later, we’re probably going to be just fine.

    • psychodoodle says:

      ooooh… no i didn’t know… Limerence! I like…. Shall google for more details. Erm, you have your men pooping on your carpet?? What the hell??? Tell me you were just trying to explain what you meant! 🙂

  8. Sy says:

    Hi. Monday nights I go out with my dart team, so a lot Tuesdays I stay home. Oh yeah, so today is Tues, I’m home with nothing to do, so I just thought I’d stop by and tell you how awesome I think you are. That’s all, have a good one.

  9. Nandini says:

    Hey, enjoyed reading it. And you’re not wrong in getting confused by what your sister said. Even I’m thinking about it now! LOL.

  10. indyink says:

    I think about this way too much myself. Seems to be the plague of our generation, emotional ambiguity. Maybe that why we’re all insomniacs. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

